Safe Third Country Agreement Stateless

    If a person is deported from the United States and transits through Canada, but no refugee applications have been detected in the United States, Article 5, point b) (ii) of the agreement states that they should be returned to the United States to review their refugee claim in that country. The Safe Third Country Agreement is an agreement between the governments of Canada and the United States to better manage the influx of refugees at the common land border. The verification petition, which is denied as a “firm resettlement” in a third country before arriving in the United States, prohibits a foreigner from obtaining asylum. Under the agreement, refugee claimants must apply for refugee protection in the first safe country they arrive in, unless they are entitled to a waiver from the agreement. Canada entered into such an agreement with the United States, which came into force on December 29, 2004. It is called Safe Third Country Agreement (STCA). A refugee application cannot be returned to the DPR if the applicant came directly or indirectly from a country designated by the regulations in Canada and not from a country with its previous nationality or habitual residence. For all other countries that could be designated as safe third countries in the future: the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) requires continuous review of all countries designated as safe third countries. The purpose of the review procedure is to ensure that the conditions that led to deportation as a safe third country remain met. When assessing the right to statelessness, it is important to determine whether statelessness is imposed on the person because of the application of a state`s laws that are outside the person`s power of control and not just by his or her own claims; Otherwise, a person could only claim statelessness by renouncing his or her previous citizenship. Read the agreement: The full text of the Safe-Third Country Section 102 of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) authorizes the designation of safe third countries for the purposes of co-responsibility for refugee applications. Only countries that respect human rights and offer a high level of protection to asylum seekers can be designated as safe third countries. In particular, the legislation requires that the review of a particular country be based on the following four factors: American citizens, wherever they are, and stateless citizens, if the United States professes it.